Branch Office Osnabrück

At the branch office of the Bremen Robotics Innovation Center (RIC), founded at the University of Osnabrück in 2011, scientists develop algorithms for the plan-based control of autonomous mobile robotic systems. Headed by Prof. Dr. Joachim Hertzberg, the scientists use results from basic research of the Knowledge Based Systems research group of the University of Osnabrück, which Prof. Hertzberg leads as well.

The scientists in Osnabrück focus on robotic applications for agriculture. Within the team “Knowledge-based long-term Autonomy“ – one of eight scientific teams of the RIC – they are researching on 3D environment sensing of robots and on their action planning. Application areas are, for example, independently operating agricultural machines and driverless transport systems such as fork-lift trucks. The researchers closely cooperate with companies from the northern and western region of Germany, such as the agricultural machinery manufacturer and DFKI shareholder CLAAS, the Grimme Landmaschinenfabrik, the intralogistics company STILL and the shipyard MEYER Werft.

The DFKI Competence Center Smart Agriculture Technologies (CC-SaAT), which combines DFKI's competencies in the field of agriculture, is headed by Osnabrueck.

Facts and Figures

Location:Osnabrück [Link to the route description ]
Founded:September 2011
Number of Employees:6 plus approx. 3 student assistants
Headed by:Prof. Dr. Joachim Hertzberg
Application Areas: Agricultural Robotics; Logistics, Production & Consumer (LPC)

Projects

Methods and technologies to provide proactive planning...
Agricultural Robotics  
Open software-platform for service innovation in an value...
Agricultural Robotics  
Sustainable protection and improvement of soil functions...
Logistics, Production and Consumer   Agricultural Robotics  
application-oriented solutions for agriculture,...
Logistics, Production and Consumer   Agricultural Robotics  
Mobile autonomous, cooperative robots in complex value...
Logistics, Production and Consumer   Agricultural Robotics  
 

Staff

Prof. Dr. Joachim Hertzberg
Head of Knowledge Based Systems
Phone: +49 541 386050 2251
E-mail: Joachim.Hertzberg@dfki.de

Dipl.-Inf. Martin Günther
Phone: +49 541 386050 5003
E-mail: Martin.Guenther@dfki.de

Dr. rer. nat. Kai Lingemann
Phone: +49 541 386050 2253
E-mail: Kai.Lingemann@dfki.de

M.Sc. Nils Niemann
Phone: +49 541 386050 6620 
E-mail: Nils.Niemann@dfki.de

Dr. rer. nat. Stefan Stiene
Phone: +49 541 386050 2252
E-mail: Stefan.Stiene@dfki.de

Sebastian Stock, M.Sc.
Phone: +49 541 386050 2256
E-mail: Sebastian.Stock@dfki.de

Guest Researcher

Henning Deeken, M.Sc.

Phone: +49 541 386050 2253 
E-mail: Henning.Deeken@dfki.de

© DFKI GmbH
last updated 24.04.2017
to top